PRIVILEGES AND PROCEDURES COMMITTEE

(95th Meeting)

27th March 2018

PART A (Non-exempt)

All members were present, with the exception of Connétable D.W. Mezbourian of St. Lawrence, from whom apologies had been received.

Connétable L. Norman of St. Clement, Chairman

Deputy J.A. Martin of St. Helier

Deputy K.C. Lewis of St. Saviour

Deputy S.Y. Mézec of St. Helier

Deputy S.M. Brée of St. Clement

Deputy S.M. Wickenden of St. Helier

In attendance -

Dr. M. Egan, Greffier of the States (for a time)

Mr. M. Entwistle, Chairman of the Referendum Commission (in attendance for part of item B1 only)

Advocate M. Boothman, Member of the Referendum Commission (in attendance for part of item B1 only)

Dr. S. Mountford, Member of the Referendum Commission (in attendance for part of item B1 only)

Mr. T. Le Sueur, O.B.E., Member of the Referendum Commission (in attendance for part of item B1 only)

W. Millow, Assistant Greffier of the States

K.L. Slack, Clerk to the Privileges and Procedures Committee

Note: The Minutes of this meeting comprise Part A and Part B.

Last meeting of the Committee as currently constituted.

A1. The Committee noted that this meeting would be its last, as currently constituted. The Chairman indicated that should he be re-elected in May 2018, he did not intend to seek re-appointment as the Chairman of the Committee. Accordingly, he thanked the members of the Committee and officers from the States Greffe for their hard work over the previous years.

Although he expressed disappointment that it had not been possible to reform the constitution of the States, he felt that the Committee had made other achievements, *inter alia*, the introduction of filming in the States Chamber.

The Committee, in turn, expressed its gratitude to the Chairman for ably fulfilling that role.